The Benefits from the New Paid Sick Time Policy in New Jersey
The New Changes Happening In New Jersey
In 2015, New Jersey’s city council, decided to change things up a little for them on October 29th. They voted in a new paid sick leave order, this order was put into effect in 2013. After just 4 days of the new ordinance, all of the voters in Elizabeth decided that they would approve a paid sick leave law.
This new law that Elizabeth put into effect, on March 2, 2016, they became the 10th community in the state of New Jersey to make the employers of their city pay sick leave to their employees.
Who These New Changes Affect
This new happening that was put into effect is now being applied to all of the employers, no matter how many employees they have. The time that is given to the employees does vary, depending on the amount of employees currently working at the business. As long as an employee working for a company has 80 hours or more worked in the year, they are allowed to take advantage of this new change. If the employee is part of a unified handling agreement, they are allowed to say no to the rules of the laws of paid sick leave when it comes to their unified handling arrangement.
All of the Overtures, Caps, Increases and Surplus
When an employee has worked for 30 hours, they are aloud 1 hour of sick leave that is paid. Employers that have more than ten employees do not have to give more than 40 hours of sick leave paid in a year. If a business has less than ten employees, the required amount of given paid sick leave goes down to 24 hours in a year. No matter how many employees they have, the employers of Home Health Workers, Child Care Workers and Food Service Workers are forced to give 40 hours in a year for paid sick leave.
The employees who have become exempt are thought to work for 40 hours in a week, with the intention of gathering with the ordinances. After 90 days of employment with a business, the amount of sick leave paid given to employees, is allowed to be used. Up to 40 hours of an employee’s not used paid sick leave can be added to the next year if they so desire.
Although, the employers are obligated to let their employees use more than 40 hours in a year, even if they may have not used their hours in the previous year and saved them for the next year. If the employer does pay the employee’s paid sick time that has not been used before the end of the year, they do not have to allow them to use that time next year. When an employer is fired, or quits, the employer does not have to pay them for the unused portion of their paid sick days.
When an employer has s paid time off policy that is already in effect, they may decide to stick with their policy instead of the new one, as long as the policy meets the regulations set by the ordinances of the paid sick leave policy.
The uses that are permitted by this new policy
Employees are able to use their paid sick leave for many things, such as:
-The care, diagnosis or the treatment of one of their or their family member’s physical or mental illness, health condition or injury that they have acquired
-When an employee’s child’s care facility or school, or an employee’s work place gets shut down due to an emergency of public health
-If a family member of the employee is put in quarantine, because of a disease that is communicable, and they must take care of them
As a side-note, this employment law piece was written to educate and protect small to mid-sized businesses from labor violations. Having employees requires quality labor law protection. If you’re based in Miami-Dade, consider one of these labor posters for total employer compliance. Their in-house legal staff is top notch at reviewing and updating their employment posters to ensure total compliance with current regulations.
Advanced Notice and Statements from Doctors
This new law lets the employers require an advance notice, which is reasonable, when using the paid sick leave. This is only if the employee knows in advance that they will be needing time off. The employers are not allowed to ask for more than 7 days of advance notice for paid sick leave.
If an employee is going to be using more than 3 paid sick days in a row, the employer of the employee can ask them to present them with a statement that has been signed by a doctor or type of health care professional. This statement should state that the sick time that they used was indeed use for a purpose that is covered.
This content was provided by Neches FCU, an Equal Employment Opportunity Employer Credit Union.
Neches FCU is one of the top Texas credit unions and has a courteous and attentive team of professionals ready to service it’s wide base of members. When the doors open at any of the nine service outlets, our core objective of “Ultimate Member Satisfaction” becomes the sole focus for every representative. They are well-known for a personal, dynamic and upbeat work environment, providing a memorable service experience, and where clients are known personally. Neches FCU has approximately $438 Million in assets with over 45,000 members. Neches FCU is acknowledged by members and the business community as one of the top credit unions in Texas and an actively involved partner, helping our Family, Friends and Community!